The Lamoille Community House

The Lamoille Community House is a warming shelter located in Hyde Park, Vermont. We create a secure space for our neighbors to realize their own potential and discover their path toward stable housing by offering:

  • Safe sanctuary and warm meals to adults experiencing homelessness.
  • Paths to possibility in collaboration with community partners.
  • Community connections to a wide range of social services.
  • Dignity and hope for our guests.


All are welcome.
Our shelter is a safe space where everyone is treated with respect and dignity. Our ADA compliant shelter and trained staff welcome all adults with warmth and kindness regardless of race, gender, religion, disability, or sexual orientation. 

Click here to see our impact report.

Our History

On December 27, 2017, the temperatures dipped to – 8 degrees fahrenheit, with highs for the day predicted to be only 5 degrees above zero. Recognizing the life or death situation facing Vermonters without shelter, Father Rick Swanson of St. John’s in the Mountains opened the doors of the church to anyone needing refuge from the cold. For the next two months, the interfaith community operated a “traveling shelter,” rotating between St. John’s in Stowe, the United Church of Johnson, the Jewish Community of Greater Stowe, and the Second Congregational Church in Hyde Park.

Their incredible effort to serve people experiencing homelessness was the spark that ignited an outpouring of community support, and eventually led to the opening of the Lamoille Community House. More than 150 volunteers showed up that winter, offering warm meals, blankets, and most importantly, hope and dignity to our neighbors in need.

On March 1, 2018, in partnership with Lamoille County Sheriff Roger Marcoux, the Lamoille Community House opened the “yellow house” in Hyde Park, a fully staffed, seasonal shelter for adults without homes.

 Our Staff

Kim Anetsberger, Executive Director

Nicole Chauvin, Shelter Manager

Shelter Staff:

Brook Salls

Sharlotte Williams

Kitty Caballer

Victoria Laguardia

Amanda Haskins

Marcus Allen

Ducan Martin-Baker

Board of Directors


Corey Perpall, Chair

Roger Nicholls, Treasurer

Emily Bradbury

Rabbi David Fainsilber

Emily McKenna

Amy Olsen

June Mendel

Making a Difference